Will I be billed again if I need to download the app again?
posted this on February 27, 2010 12:42
No, you will not be billed again. Even though the app store displays a price and the button says 'buy' you will not be billed again as long as you are logged into the same iTunes account that you purchased the app with. You will instead see a pop up message after tapping 'buy' that explains that you already purchased the app and can download it again for free. (Tap OK to download. Cancel to cancel the download). See image below:
(message in last screen may vary)
UPDATE: This article does not apply to iOS 5, which does not display a price to users who have purchased the app. Instead the button will say 'Download'.
This is subject to Apple's billing policies. If you do get charged re-downloading you should contact Apple.